skip to Main Content

INDO PACIFIC 2022 Innovation Award winners announced

Winners of the Pacific 2019 Innovation Awards with Minister for defence Industry Melissa Price MP. photo: John Lane, AMDA Foundation

Three Australian innovators have been named winners of the INDO PACIFIC 2022 Innovation Awards, worth some $30,000. Their success was announced 26 April at a special online event hosted by the organiser of INDO PACIFIC 2022, AMDA Foundation Limited. The Awards are sponsored by Kyndryl, a global leader in digital infrastructure.

The winners include Tasmanian SME CBG Systems which has developed a new fire-resistant non-combustible insulation wall panel for ships that increases protection and reduces weight; Victorian SME Sentient Vision Systems which has developed the world’s first optical radar and built this into a pod that can be carried by a manned or unmanned aircraft or helicopter; and a young researcher in Perth, Mr. Alex Murphy of Fugro Australia Marine, who has led the development of a lightweight, containerised command, control and communications system for offshore exploration.

The Awards, including the two cheques for $15,000, will be presented at 1030 on Tuesday 10 May, in the Port Theatrette at the INDO PACIFIC 2022 venue, the International Convention Centre (ICC) in Sydney.

The winners are:

  • National Innovation Award: CBG SYSTEMS (TAS)
  • SME Innovation Award ($15,000): Sentient Vision Systems (VIC))
  • Young Innovator Award ($15,000): Mr Alex Murphy (WA)

In addition, four Award contenders won a High Commendation:

  • National Innovation Award HIGH COMMENDATION: DMTC Limited (VIC)
  • SME Innovation Award HIGH COMMENDATION: Pivot Maritime International (TAS)
  • SME Innovation Award HIGH COMMENDATION: UAM TEC Pty Limited (VIC)
  • Young Innovator Award HIGH COMMENDATION: Mr Matthew Harrison, UAM TEC Pty Limited (VIC)

For further information and to learn more about the winners’ innovations go to the INDO PACIFIC 2022 web site

Back To Top